Make a Quiz on Google Docs


Google Docs is a program provided by Google that I have used in the past as a nice filing cabinet for documents. I used to always lose my thumb drive and I have learned to love uploading files to Google Docs.

Recently I stumbled across the Form feature in Google Docs, where you can produce a form and save it online. I had never thought about using a form as a quiz template but it appears as if this will be a great tool.

Using this feature, you can create questions in which a student has to input their individual answers (multiple formats, such as fill in the blank and multiple choice). Once the students have finished filling in the form/quiz and click “submit”, Google Docs transfers all of the information to a spreadsheet (on Google Docs) for you. Although this application does not correct any of the answers, it is a pretty handy, online way of having students answer questions and submitting them online. Be sure to include a mandatory question where the students have to type their name so that you know who did what 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

7 thoughts on “Make a Quiz on Google Docs

  1. First of all I want to say terrific blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your head prior to writing.
    I’ve had a hard time clearing my mind in getting my ideas out. I do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or tips? Kudos!

    1. Thanks! I usually let the idea sit in my head for a day or two and only sit down to write when I feel like the idea has “cooked enough”. This stops me from writing the trivial things or things that seem different in the light of a new day.

      Then after you write, it’s edit edit edit time….reworking your thoughts to make them coherent.

  2. Hey! I understand this is kind of off-topic but I needed to
    ask. Does building a well-established blog like yours take a lot
    of work? I am brand new to blogging but I do write in my journal
    every day. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my experience and feelings online. Please let me know if you have any recommendations or tips for new aspiring blog owners. Thankyou!

    1. I started out really small. I started a blog just to have a place to share some projects my students were doing and then eventually it became like an educational journal.

      Once I had a few posts done, I started playing with some of the features in WordPress, like tagging posts, making categories so it was more organized and things like that. But that’s hard to do right off the bat. You almost have to start and see where the blog evolves as if it were a living thing.

      I like to use WordPress as my blogging platform but there are a lot of good ones out there. I know people like Blogger. I like the professional look of WordPress.

      My advice is to just start one and start writing. There is nothing stopping you from editing something once you get it out there. Share your blog with your connections on Twitter, Facebook and friends. Eventually people will find you 🙂 I sometimes share my posts on different communities and that gets the word out too.

  3. Hey very cool blog!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Superb .
    . I’ll bookmark your site and take the feeds additionally? I am happy to seek out a lot of useful info right here in the put up, we want work out extra techniques in this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

Leave a Reply

