Lesson Planning in the Cloud


My school district utilizes a program that allows parents and students to check updated grades and lesson plans on the internet.  We are required to update lesson plans so that parents know any work their child missed throughout the week.  But the program where teachers input their lesson plans is incredibly tedious, especially for teachers that teach multiple sections of the same subject.

Last year, instead of typing all of my lesson plans into this archaic program, I created a GoogleDocs document with my weekly lesson plans.  Then I just copied that shared link into the parent communication program so that parents could find the most up-to-date lesson plans.

As great as that turned out to be (having the ability to update lesson plans in real-time), I wondered if something else would be better for this upcoming school year.  I stumbled upon a free web program called PlanbookEdu, which lets users create lesson plans online.  These plans can be shared through a link or directly embedded in a webpage.

The layout of the lesson plan templates of PlanbookEdu were very similar to the table I created in GoogleDocs, but it was cleaner and crisper.  I was able to create as many cells, or “courses”, as I wanted.  My husband (also a teacher) used PlanbookEdu to create a lesson plan template for all of the hours he teaches (1st hour, 3rd hour, 5th hour, etc.)  I elected just to set mine up for the courses I teach (Spanish 1, Spanish 2 and Spanish 3).

Right now I’m just using the free version of PlanbookEdu but the Premium version seems reasonably priced and includes some enticing perks: ability to upload documents for downloading to the lesson plans & the ability to share lesson plans with anyone on the web.  I will have to move to the Premium version to share these plans with parents, but for only $25 a year, it seems worth it.

I really like what I’m seeing with this program so far and think that it’s a great program for any teacher looking for an easy way to keep track of lesson planning and scheduling “in the cloud”.
http://planbookedu.com/e/37952/week

Leave a Reply

