Infographic Syllabus


A class syllabus reminds me of a good restaurant menu.  It is informative and should be easy to scan for the information that you want.  Design in my classroom syllabus has always been important.  Blocked text and paragraphs of info just aren’t that exciting.  Imagine going into a restaurant and getting a 8×12 piece of black and white paper with point 12 Times New Roman font.  What message would that send about the restaurant?

I’ve been dabbling with using infographics in my classroom as assessment tools over the past year and this summer came across some articles on infographic syllabi.  What if you take all the information that you normally share through a syllabus but present it visually, with a mixture of graphics, charts and text.  It’ll be easy to refer to and gives a great first impression of my classroom.

Our 21st century world is full of stimuli competing for our attention.  Never has design been more important in gaining and keeping the attention of a viewer as now.  The education world doesn’t need to be exempt from those principles.  Below is my attempt to create an infographic syllabus.  I’m not a designer but it accomplished what I wanted it to: 1) easy to refer to, 2) contains important information and 3) attractive graphic elements that gain the attention of the viewer.

Syllabus Spanish Infographic

 

3 thoughts on “Infographic Syllabus

  1. So, did you post this on your websites, did you print it? Does everyone in your school have internet access? Does the infographic print off and if so, how (I tried to make one yesterday). Thanks,

    1. I posted it, emailed it to parents and students and printed it. I believe to print it I saved it either as a JPG or PDF and printed it that way. I think there was a download option to do that. Everyone in our school does have internet access.

Leave a Reply

