Re-Branding: Meaningful Ed


My school year ended yesterday. I’m celebrating my first day of summer vacation by returning to this blog. It’s been awhile.

I used to blog to share ideas. Then I wrote to reflect on what I was doing. In my blogging hiatus, I’ve done a lot of professional growing. I reached that magical milestone of 10 years of experience, looked around my classroom and thought “am I doing what I need to be doing”? I finally feel smart enough to realize that in order to be better teacher, I need to be asking better questions about my teaching. This blog seems like a fitting platform to ask those questions and continue this journey.

The new name for the blog is “Meaningful Ed”. I need my students to be engaged in the content inside and outside the classroom. Content and delivery must be meaningful to them if it’s going to stand a chance up against basketball games, teen dramas and Snapchat. My goal and my focus is to make education meaningful. Hopefully this blog shares that focus.

The name has a slight personal twist to it as well. My son is almost two and is at that stage where he is learning so much every day right in front of my eyes. It’s so amazing to watch that much learning happening so obviously and joyously. He is helping me realize how incredible learning is. And his name is Edward, or Eddie. Or Meaningful Ed.

Leave a Reply

